www.davidlebovitz.com

Over the long weekend, Nick and I took a much needed ‘vacation’ down to the Cape for my cousins wedding. It was perfect– a beautiful, sunny Saturday, and an equally sunny Sunday. It didn’t start raining until we were headed back up to Maine. Cape Cod holds such precious memories for me. My siblings and I grew up going there during the summer whenever we came back to visit the States. Everything about my Grammy and Grampy’s cottage is nostalgic for me. The smells. The cookies in the cookie jar. The chocolate milk in the fridge. The tiny bunk beds. The sandy bathroom floors. I hope so much that someday Nick and I can give our children wonderful memories like these. 

Image

Last night, after a long and enjoyable day of work, Nicks fellow Bean Farmer came over for dinner, and told me that I had better let people know that the Magical Beans are not in fact Bhaers Best. They are just Baers Best. We are beer braised pulled pork, bbq beans, broccoli slaw, and corn pone. None of which I took pictures of. I did however document the entire process of dessert. So, you are in luck.

I love me an oatmeal raisin cookie as much as anyone, but I am trying to maintain my pre-wedding figure, and have been figuring out ways to make comfort foods a little healthier and less caloric. Enter these Better For You  Pumpkin Oatmeal Craisin cookies. Yum. They’re not super sweet– just sweet enough, I think. And so chewy and pumpkin-ny that it doesn’t even matter that there is barely and butter in them.

I adapted my recipe from Nick Malgieri’s version which I found on http://www.davidlebovitz.com 

Image

 

 

Image

 

 

Image

 

 

Image

 

 

Image

 

Image

 

Image

 

 

Image

 

 

Image

About simplylivingwell

I am a lover of beauty, good food, health, and experience. In a world laden by student debt, health insurance fees, and never-ending bills, it is admittedly hard to succeed at anything. But by living simply, creatively, and with a certain verve, I think its possible.
Link | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

