Pumpkin-Apple-Cranberry-Walnut Bread

This is delicious. With just a hint of sweetness, and an incredibly moist almost cake-like texture, it is a perfect breakfast treat, and a not-too-guilty dessert.

 

The crumb topping makes it even more delectable. Nothing beats a warm crumb top on a cold, cold day. Because it is getting so cold. Right now I’m sitting in front of the space heater in my enormous sweater typing with cold fingers. It is, of course, cloudy and dark out. Oh, New England and your winters…

Anyway. I adapted the recipe from a base one that I found online. It is good to note that because I didn’t put the full amount of oil in, it does dry out more quickly than normal bread would. But if you warm it up in the oven before you eat it, it goes back to normal.

Start with your fruit mixture. I used 3/4 of a large Fuji apple (simply the best variety, I couldn’t love them more. They have a texture almost like sugar cane.) chopped up small, about a quarter cup of chopped walnuts, and a quarter cup of dried cranberries. Toss these in a bowl with a bit of flour so the fruit doesn’t sink to the bottom of the bread.

 

In another bowl, combine all the dry ingredients. I used one cup of white flour, and half a cup of whole wheat flour, one cup of whole oats,   a half cup of brown sugar (as opposed to 3/4 which is what it called for) 1 tsp of baking powder, and  half a tsp of baking soda. Then I put in two teaspoons of cinnamon, and a half teaspoon of ground ginger.

 

 

 

 

 

In a separate bowl, I combined 3/4 cup of sweetened almond milk, (at 60 calories a cup, it has half the calories of 1 percent milk and is so much creamier. I usually get the unsweetened, but for baking, its nice to have a little hint in there.) a little more than a quarter cup olive oil, two egg whites, and two tablespoons of maple syrup.

 

 

 

 

Last of all, throw in some salt to bring out the flavor. I used to never, ever use salt in cooking because I always thought it was unhealthy. I also used to dehydrate constantly…Nick (my very athletic husband) informed me that if you exercise regularly and sweat heavily (charming, I’m sure) then you need to be replenishing the salt in your body to keep from dehydrating. Which is interesting, because in Thailand (where I grew up) it is incredibly hot, and they put salt in their water.

Anyway. That being said, I like to use salt now.

 

 

 

Back to  the task at hand. Combine the dry and the wet together and pour into an 8×8 greased pan.

In a little bowl, combine 1/4 cup of oats, 1/8 cup brown sugar, and a half tablespoon of softened butter. Crumble it up with your hard working hands, and sprinkle it all over the bread.

 

Then, pop it in your preheated to 400 degree oven and bake it for 35 minutes.

It was delicious warm with a dollop of strawberry jam. The apples tender and sweet, and just a hint of the pumpkin flavor. Perfect for fall.

I can hardly believe that Halloween is almost here. Its the first one in years that I’m not doing some sort of tourist acting in our sweet Salem. But I don’t really miss it. Today I have to work in Salem, and although nothing is more invigorating than walking through Salem during the Halloween season, its not quite as fun to drive through the madness. But its only once a year. And it goes by so, so quickly.

Here’s the recipe run down.

(filling)

3/4 fuji apple

1/4 cup crushed walnuts

1/4 cup dried cranberries

dusting of flour for mixing

(bread)

1 cup white flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup whole oats

1/2 cup dark brown sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1 cup pumpkin puree

3/4 cup almond milk

1/4 (plus a little) cup olive oil

2 egg whites

2 tbs maple syrup

1/2 tsp salt

(crumb top)

1/4 cup oats

1/8 cup brown sugar

1/2 tbs softened butter

combine wet and dry ingredients and add in fruit mixture. Pour into greased 8×8 pan, and sprinkle crumb mixture on top. Bake at 400 degrees for 35 minutes. Eat, eat, eat.

About simplylivingwell

I am a lover of beauty, good food, health, and experience. In a world laden by student debt, health insurance fees, and never-ending bills, it is admittedly hard to succeed at anything. But by living simply, creatively, and with a certain verve, I think its possible.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

