Don’t Mind if I Do Apple Pie

I have forgotten what the sun in the morning looks like.  I’d forgotten, mostly, what the sun in general looks like, but then today, all of the sudden, it BURST out like an anthem and the sky is perfectly blue, blue, blue, and warm, even, for mid October. Thank you, thank you!

Are you sick of wedding pictures yet? Cause I’m just getting started.

 

I was going to write my Rainy Day Workout here today, but there isn’t any need. I got my oil changed and took a long run and thought about how nice it was to feel warm, to feel really warm, and to sweat warm sweat. Its the little things…

On Sunday, My Day Off, I did many things…many things besides relaxing. As I get older and slowly evolve more and more into my mother (unavoidable) I become more obsessed with doing things and less concerned with resting, and rejuvenating. It is something that I, like she, need to work on.

Anyway, whilst doing seven million loads of laundry, uploading 1200 wedding pictures, cleaning the house, writing a blog post, concocting homemade lasagna with cauliflower-ricotta filling, grocery shopping, and watching one episode of New Girl, I also whipped up an apple pie. With my first ever homemade crust, which, I will admit, tasted great but looked not so great. Oh well. I’ll learn, and someday be able to make glorious crusts like my old roommate Natalie does.

 

Nicks fellow farmer friend Jon gave us these GIGANTIC apples which he got from another fellow farmer friends orchard.

 

 

They. Are. Huge. He requested they be made into a pie, and I obliged. Apples are so very sweet on their own, that they really don’t need much sugar added to them. I made the homemade crust (just look up the recipe….I followed one for a butter crust, because I don’t have shortening and didn’t want to buy it.) and let it sit in the fridge while I put together the innards. Because crust, with all its  butter, is high in calories, I went for a crumb top. The average apple pie calls for 3/4 cup of sugar (WHAT!?) so I followed my heart instead.

I peeled and thinly sliced three mega apples. Then I added a teaspoon of honey, and a teaspoon of maple syrup. I sprinkled in a healthy dose of cinnamon and ground ginger (at least 2 teaspoons of the former and one of the latter) and 2 tablespoons of brown sugar. I was pretty much out of lemon juice, but I probably managed to squeeze a teaspoon or two out. And that was it. The innards were complete.

For the crumb top, I combined 1/4 cup of flour, 1/4 cup of brown sugar, a dash of cinnamon, and two tablespoons of butter together. It doesn’t cover the whole pie, but it does the trick.

Then, I awkwardly and with a smattering of foul language rolled out the dough. I added the apples, sprinkled the crumb  top, and baked it for an hour at 400 degrees.

 

 

And even if it wasn’t a work of art, it was charmingly rustic, and that’s fine with me. It was also just sweet enough, and delicious. We all enjoyed it with some local vanilla ice cream.

 

And with this pie, when someone says to you “would you like some apple pie?” you can reply…”Apple pie? Why yes, don’t mind if I do.”

The end.

 

 

About simplylivingwell

I am a lover of beauty, good food, health, and experience. In a world laden by student debt, health insurance fees, and never-ending bills, it is admittedly hard to succeed at anything. But by living simply, creatively, and with a certain verve, I think its possible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

